Sailor’s Valentine, StarShine – Still Waiting

I am still waiting for my new valentine box. No notice of it being shipped, nothing. All things take time I know, but I am getting so impatient. I ordered this one from a newer dealer. The pictures make the box look awesome. I hope the final product is as good. This dealer hasn’t exactly spawned trust in me. I’ve sent two notes about a future order and no answer back. I think if he/she has received too much business, then decline my order. What ever the answer, just have manners and send a reply. Sorry, had to vent. Bad manners are a pet peeve.  I just hope this box is worth the wait.

The flowers in this post are my ‘madz’. My version of a mum/aster/dahlia/zinnia type flower. I made several of these using natural shells. The flowers are actually quick and fairly easily made. When creating a floral arrangement, the coquina makes the perfect fill flower.

Remember in the last post, the ending paragraph spoke about the dyed coquina shells? These are the ‘madz’ made with the much maligned dyed shells. I have enough of these dyed shells to make a ton of ‘madz’! Truthfully, I really like this type of flower. The overall shape is common among flowers. By reversing the shell, a whole flower appears.

I have a small, slow-growing Philodendron. To give it some pizzazz, I stuck some of these around in the pot. Any potted plant would work for this type of application. Mine was various colors but you could go monochrome and still have lovely result. I tried using different shell flowers like this but none worked as well.

I’m thinking about getting some clay pots and decorating them with shells. After adding a plant, I want add ‘madz’ in colors to match the pot.

I have also have given into peer pressure. All of my art is for my enjoyment. I’ve completed a few commissions and sold a couple of things but mostly I’ve given several pieces away. If my art makes someone happy and brings them pleasure, then I am happy. I can’t tell you how much it means when someone is touched by such a simple gift. However, the general consensus around here is that I should be selling not giving away.

I don’t know. I fluctuate between feeling guilty about people for money and battling fear of rejection. What if I posted something for sale and no one liked it? How would I feel? How do you price things like this anyway?

But I have posted a couple of things on eBay and I’ll probably add a few more depending on how these are received. Did that sound very cowardly?

About leggygillin

I make Sailor's Valentines, Seashell flower arrangements and other shell art. Blogging about them helps me improve the quality of my work. By looking at my progress through images, I'm able to view the pieces differently. I think also it helps others who may be wanting to learn. Not that I am a teacher, by any means. I'm still learning, growing, and developing my art with each post.
This entry was posted in Gallery, Sailor's Valentine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sailor’s Valentine, StarShine – Still Waiting

  1. beverly putnam says:

    I personally think the same way you do, people tell me the same things. sell, sell ,sell. Where do we find the confidence ? I guess it will come in time,when I believe I am talented as well. Love your site. Stay with it,you will because you love doing what you do. Don’t worrytoo too much about the negative thoughts we get. Just enjoy your time doing your craft. Sincerely, Bbevabella

Leave a comment